My Fasting Fluids

Here is a rundown of the fluids I consume during fasting intervals.

Upon waking – Drink at least 8 ounces of plain water.

Morning Mega Coffee a la Tervis Tumbler – Grind and brew 24 ounces of coffee + 2 tablespoons plain cream (I actually measure the cream). I drink about half while it’s still hot.  What I don’t finish while hot becomes iced coffee.  I have become accustomed to no sweetener.  This is consumed over several hours.

Water during the day – I am good with plain water, mostly room temperature. Adding a splash of fresh or bottled lemon juice is nice too.

Vinegar shots – I didn’t care for vinegar added to my water during the day. I add 1 tablespoons of vinegar to 4 ounces of water.  Plain water, followed by vinegar shot, with a plain water chaser, 2-3 times a day is the goal.

Bone broth – Homemade bone broth with the following additions (to taste): onion powder, garlic powder, 1 tablespoons Garlic Red Pepper Miso (a.k.a. miso crack) per 8 ounces of broth, smoked sea salt, cayenne pepper.

Tea is always a nice change from coffee with caffeinated and caffeine free options.  I will enjoy discovering new flavors.

Chamomile Tea – I use an infuser pitcher  to cold brew chamomile tea so it is always on hand. Due to insomnia I try to limit my coffee intake to mornings.  Two cups or more of Chamomile tea several hours before bedtime helps.

Vitamin C with Rosehips tea – I like to drink this as a hot beverage.  I believe it helps quiet my hunger.  Currently, I use a loose tea and tea infuser.  There are brands of teabags that use whole tea in filter bags or sachets that I like for on the go.

Harney & Sons Hot Cinnamon Tea Sachets – This is a robust, spicy and really “cinnamony” tea.  The black tea version of this flavor tastes better than the green tea version in my opinion.

Tazo Teas Baked Cinnamon Apple Filterbags – a nice hot tea reminiscent of cider.

Dandy Blend, Instant Herbal Beverage With Dandelion, Single Serving Pouches – This is a caffeine free coffee substitute that tastes great hot or cold.

I am finding that I experience increased feelings of hunger during the initial periods of fasting after I have broken a fast.  For the most part, the hunger dissipates and eventually goes away.  It seems like the more I experience periods of fasting the less noticeable hunger becomes.  I am working on getting the right description of how I feel after I have broken a fast.  I read it described as “heavy” which is true but it’s different; it feels like the “old me”.  Perhaps I will come across a description that fits as I continue to read about the practice.

