Pseudogout

Make that 3 orthopedic events.

Pseudogout. I never heard of it until earlier this week.  That was the diagnosis post knee aspiration (this means a needle in my knee – no fun at all) which removed approximately 60 mL (2 ounces) of fluid.  Pseudogout occurs when calcium pyrophosphate (CPP) crystals deposits in articular tissues and it is associated inflammatory arthritis which I do experience from time to time.  Consistent with what I read, the onset was abrupt and accompanied by pain, warmth, swelling, all of which sent me to the orthopedic doctor. Thankfully it took 6 days to resolve without me needing a steroid injection.

Though I believe this pseudogout attack has a simple explanation – arthritis – I am not sure why this developed now and since the big variable is that I started fasting I am looking for a possible link.  I found a post at  Mark’s Daily Apple about gout (not pseudogout) and purines that made me think of autophagy:

 “Purines are in pretty much every cell – plant and animal alike – because they provide some of the chemical structure of both DNA and RNA. When cells are broken down and recycled (like in digestion – yum, love those delicious cells!), their purines get metabolized right along with everything else. Uric acid is a major product of purine metabolism, and this is a good thing; uric acid acts as an antioxidant in our blood, protecting blood vessels from damage. But if for some reason an excessive amount of uric acid (hyperuricemia) is produced, enough to crystallize and lodge in joints and other tissues, you might get gout.”

In any case, there is one thing fasting won’t reverse – aging bones and joints! However, reducing my weight will help slow the progression.  June 4th will be my 30-day point intermittent fasting.  I look forward to posting some observation updates around that time.  Thankfully my pseudogout episode did not derail my efforts.

