10 Most Important Tests (Plus 2)

I have been practicing intermittent fasting for about 2 months. I was curious to see what changes I would see in my blood work compared to my baseline.  My plan was to wait at least 6 months but my curiosity got the best of me! 

I was pleased with the comparison.  These facts and figures go a long way to confirm how much better I look and feel and will become of my motivation to continue with embracing this lifestyle change.

I use DirectLabs. A brief comparison of a number of my baseline versus 30 day values is below.

  1. C-Peptide, Serum
  2. Insulin
  3. 10 Most Important Tests (which includes CBC (includes Differential and Platelets), Comprehensive Metabolic Panel, CRP-hs , DHEA Sulfate, Estradiol, Ferritin, Fibrinogen Activity, Gamma Glutamyl Transferase (GGT), Hemoglobin A1c with eAG, Iron, Lactate Dehydrogenase (LD), Lipid Panel, Phosphate, Progesterone, Testosterone, TSH, Uric Acid, Vitamin D, 25-Hydroxy).
Lab Test 60 day change My Observations
Glucose decreased It is very encouraging to see this value decrease. I use a glucose meter to check my blood sugar during fasts thus I was expecting a decrease.
Hemoglobin A1c decreased It is very encouraging to see this value decrease along with my glucose.
Insulin decreased The initial value was within normal range, which I did not expect. It is encouraging to see this number continue to drop.
C-peptide, serum maintain normal range
Kidney/Liver maintain normal range
Lipid Panel maintain normal range
Thyroid maintain normal range
Vitamin D, 25-Hydroxy increased It is encouraging to see this value increase.   It has been within normal range but on the low side of normal.  I will look for information regarding why fasting may have impacted this value.  I have supplemented with Vitamin D for several years and the value has slowly increased over time.  Initially, I discontinued taking the supplements that I take.  About 3 weeks later, I added back some supplements at meals when a fasting interval was broken.
Fluids and Electrolytes maintain normal range
Inflamatory Markers
CRP-hs (highly sensitive) decreased It is encouraging to see this value decrease.   I have read about high insulin and high glucose values being linked to increased inflammation.
Ferritin maintain normal range
Fibrinogen Activity, Clauss decreased (maintain normal range) The initial value was within normal range. It is encouraging to see this number continue to drop.

 

 

