Motivation THREE: Build Trust In Yourself

Three: Build Trust In Yourself (From Elizabeth Benton at Primal Potential)

“After years of yo-yo dieting, making commitments to “start on Monday” and caving to temptation, I didn’t trust myself at all. My own word meant nothing to me.

When I’d silently declare, “I can do this!” there was a not-so-quiet voice in my head calling horse poo.

I felt defeated before I even began. I didn’t trust myself.

If you’re wondering, “how do I even start to trust myself again?”, you’re asking the right question.

 I want you to make one small commitment to yourself today. You must keep it.

This is not a hostage crisis and there’s no negotiating with yourself. After you’ve made the commitment, case closed. You will follow through.”

This is a powerful point.  That negative committee in our heads? Well, their rants and opinions have been reinforced over and over by our behavior.  It is our job to set the record straight!

I am using a set of spiral bound 3 x 5 note cards for my trust building daily routine.  I write out the date, followed by my name and a short affirmation such as “I Can Do Hard Things”, followed by “I will _______ today.  It is amazing how something so simple can have a huge impact.

More to come….

