Recipes Featuring Vegetables as Rice or Slaw

There has been a run on frozen cauliflower rice in my town!  This shortage is occurring during my current addiction which lead me to a great method to make my own. Riced/crumbled/”slawed” vegetables are an easy way may a quick and tasty stir fry, main dish or side dish.  Let’s get inspired!

Prepared vegetables are found more commonly in stores these days.  Look for slaw broccoli or cabbage in the bagged vegetables/salad section. Looked for fresh “riced” cauliflower in the bagged vegetables/salad section or with frozen foods. I understand that Sam’s/Costco may have these prepared vegetables also. Interchange these prepared time savers in your favorite recipes that use regular rice or noodles.

 

Or, you may want to choose to make your own!

This video “the fastest way to “rice” cauliflower” is a 3 minute tutorial on making riced cauliflower from a fresh head of cauliflower.  In the video, she uses a blender, but I followed the same method using a food processor.  I have made it before but never added WATER.  Wow.  Adding some water made a big difference to me.  I divided my cauliflower into chunks and processed in 3 batches.  After pulsing in the food processor, I  dumped each batch into a big colander and let it drain.  Once drained, I used one portion right away and put the rest in the freezer.  I like how the video shows a non freezing option where she stores her riced cauliflower in a jar to use throughout the week.  I plan to try this ricing method on fresh broccoli stalks.

Beliw are links to some straightforward recipes to use for inspiration for your new vegetable habit. I think you could interchange the base vegetable in any of these recipes.  Add your favorite protein to any of these versatile recipes to create a nice meal.  Enjoy!

Low Carb Crack Slaw with Beef and Cabbage

Hamburger Cabbage Stir-Fry

Fried “Rice”

Cauliflower Dirty Rice with Andouille Sausage

Low Carb Dirty Rice

Mexican Cauliflower Rice

Tuna Casserole III

Fried Rice a la Obtain and Maintain

More to come…..

 

One thought on “Recipes Featuring Vegetables as Rice or Slaw

  1. Pingback: So (Keto) Fresh Ideas – Part 2 | Obtain and Maintain

Comments are closed.