Muddy Waters Fasting – Round 2

Sooner than I had in mind, I completed another 5 day fast earlier this month.  At the last minute, I decided to join podcaster Elizabeth Benton with her foray into extended fasting and see what the group fasting experience would be like.  I wrote about the group commitment idea (with or without fasting) in the post Five Day Commitment.  I wrote about my first 5 day extended fast in post Muddy Waters Fasting which defines “muddy waters” and contains links to a number of great references.

Deciding to embark upon an extended fast on this particular morning had one downside – the last food I consumed on the evening before was much later than normal, such that an extended fast would ideally end in the morning time, putting me well over 5 days.  My internal agreements were that ending in the morning of day 5+ would be ideal (but not a deal breaker), to establish a goal daily of making it through the next 24 hours, and it would be cool to end this fast at anytime I felt like it before reaching day 5.

I also had a theory that I wanted to test.  I met Jimmy Moore in person at the Metabolic Therapeutics conference earlier this year and I related my experiences about my first extended fast and the intense hunger and desire I had to gnaw off my own arm at times.  He responded that you develop a fasting strength each time you fast for an extended period of time.  Hmmm, well, this group fast thing might be a good time to test this theory.

I revisited the subject of the GKI (glucose ketone index) and went back to the original paper published in Nutrition & Metabolism in March of 2015 to re-read the basis of the ranges associated with different conditions.   I used the nifty GKI calculator and Journal feature at Heads Up Health to help document during this fast.

Autophagy, GKI, healing….I mean, who wouldn’t want to fast (smile)?

In a nutshell, for reasons that I cannot explain, I did not experience hunger until I well into this fast.  My stomach growled and I felt empty but not hunger.  Trust me, this was 180 degrees different from previous fast!  Also, I paid more attention to documenting how I was feeling and calculating my GKI.  I experienced my lowest glucose levels I have ever seen, with the lowest being 68.

I am also please to write that I felt pretty good throughout this fast.  My energy was good, my sleep ranged from okay to good, and I didn’t feel tired or irritable.  No one in the work place even realized I was fasting!  My blood pressure was really good and my pulse was good though slightly elevated which is not unusual.  I was seriously in the therapeutic zone with regard to GKI, which more than makes the experience worth it.  Regardless of what anyone chooses to believe about autophagy or GKI, it is quite comforting for me to believe that I experienced healing during this experience.  The journey continues!

Date Time Time
Fasted
Notes GKI
Saturday
3/11/2017
9:30 PM 0 hours Had an uncharacteristially late meal today.  Did not know this would actually be my last meal prior to embarking upon an extended fast! No prefast glucose or ketone readings.
Sunday
3/12/2017
7:00 AM 9 hours I woke up this morning and decided to begin a fast.  My goal is 5 days total.  I set a daily goal of 24 hours, with the mindset being that I am okay to end at any time.  I ate unusually late yesterday, thus my start time is 9:30 PM. 7.6
Sunday
3/12/2017
9:30 PM 24 hours I did not feel hunger today. Stomach was growling in the evening but did not feel hunger. Added a small amount of sea salt beverages (coffee, Yerba Mate, water). Fluid intake on target (plain water,  water with 1 scoop of Jigsaw Raspberry Lemonade magnesium supplement, peppermint tea) 3.2
Monday
3/13/2017
6:30 AM 33 hours Stomach growling but do not feel hunger. 4.5
Monday 3/13/2017 7:00 PM 44 hours I still have not experienced hunger which is amazing. I feel “empty” with regard to food, but not hunger or any compelling need to fight eating. I have been adding small amounts of sea salt to my beverages. I wonder if that is making the difference?
Fluid intake on target today (plain water, salted black coffee, salted Yerba Mate, water with 1 scoop of Jigsaw Raspberry).
2.6
Tuesday
3/14/2017
6:30 AM 57 hours Did not sleep well last night (though I was yawning prior to going to bed) but I still feel alert. I am still not feeling hunger, just the feeling of being “empty”. Salted coffee is brewing right now in the French press. 2.2
Tuesday
3/14/2017
5:02 PM 67 hours Left work a little early and went to Whole Foods to get cauli rice (for after fast) and kombucha. I may or may not partake of the kombucha during this fast. My arms felt really cold when I got in the car. The rest of my body felt warm. Odd sensation that passed shortly after I got home. This is the first cold sensation I have experienced on this fast.
Thursday
3/14/2017
7:12 PM 70 hours I am amazed that I have only felt very mild hunger. I think it is more of a feeling of emptyness rather than hunger. I won’t be able to draw any conclusions about my salt theory unless I do another fast, lol. Energy level was good all day despite poor sleep the previous night. Fluid intake exceeded target today (plain water, salted black coffee, water with 1 scoop of Jarrow Raspberry Lemonade in water, Crystal Lite, Yerba Mate). 1.3
Wednesday
3/15/2017
6:08 AM 80 hours Feeling moderate hunger this morning. I slept better last night, getting a solid 6 hours of sleep. 1.1
Wednesday
3/15/2017
8:22 PM 95 hours I was moderately hungry this morning. Hunger was stronger around 2PM so I sipped on diluted beef bone broth. I consumed this over several hours. Fluid intake exceed target today (plain water, water with 1 scoop Jarrow Raspberry Lemonaid, salted black coffee, water with 4 ounces beef bone broth). 1.2
Thursday
3/16/2017
7:17 AM 106 hours I woke up once during the night but was able to fall back asleep and woke up this morning feeling rested with my stomach growling, however, I am only feeling mildly hungry. Energy level and alertness is good.

My goal is to fast 120 hours/5 days, which would end tonight around 10 PM, which is really too late to eat. Unless I feel overwhelming hunger, I will wait to break the fast tomorrow.

1
Thursday
3/16/2017
3:24 PM 114 hours This is the first time I have measured in the afternoon.  My reasoning is since the literature reads that blood ketones increase throughout the day, it would be fair to assume AM and PM readings would provide a snapshot of the range.  I was experiencing significant hunger for the first time during this fast.  No idea if there is any correlation but I was curious and donated one of these expensive blood ketone strips to the cause, lol. 0.6
Thursday
3/16/2017
8:56 PM 119 hours Fast should technically end tonight at 10PM but it is too late too eat and I am good to extend through tomorrow. I found myself looking at recipes today; I clearly want to eat, though physically I made it through the two moments where I felt moderate hunger. I have not felt intense/overwhelming hunger anywhere near comparable to my first 5 day fast. 1
Friday
3/17/2017
5:58 AM 128 hours Slept well last night. Awoke with stomach growling but I do not feel hungry. I am past my goal of 5 days/120 hours (Yay!). I have been thinking about food/eating quite a bit in the last 24 hours which I find amusing for some reason. 0.9
Friday
3/17/2017
10:49 AM 133 hours Fast broken with lunch of smoked salmon, boiled eggs and sauerkraut. 0.7
Friday
3/17/2017
9:00 PM Post Fast
9 hours
After breaking the fast with lunch and dinner I am now feeling fatigued. Dinner was the same as lunch (smoked salmon, boiled eggs and sauerkraut) plus pickled beets made with stevia. 2.1
Saturday
3/18/2017
6:00 AM Post Fast
18 hours
Slept fairly well last night, still feel a little tired. 1.9
3/18/2017 9:00 PM resumed intermittent fasting 2 meals a day 4.4
3/19/2017 7:30 AM 3.5
3/19/2017 10:30 AM 4.3
3/19/2017 4:00 PM 6.6

More to come…..

 

