Book Review – The Obstacle Is the Way

Thumbs up – highly recommended!

I wore out several pencils underlining sentences that resonated with me in this book.  I first heard about the philosophy of stoicism and this book on some of the Primal Potential podcasts.  Right away, I fell in love with this book.  It appeals to the practical and pragmatic essences of my character.  

The Obstacle Is the Way: The Timeless Art of Turning Trials into Triumph by Ryan Holiday

The pure definition of stoicism would have the average person turn away but trust me, this book makes the tenants of stoicism very accessible.  I was sold after the first few pages.  I am grateful to have come across it and the author.

Page 4/5

“This is not a book of gushing, hazy optimism. This is not a book that tells you to deny when stuff sucks or to turn the other cheek when you’ve been completely screwed over. There will be no folksy sayings or cute but utterly ineffectual proverbs.

This book will share with you their collective wisdom in order to help you accomplish the very specific and increasingly urgent goal we all share: overcoming obstacles”

The obstacle in the path becomes the path. Never forget”

This is a link to the website for the Book The Daily Stoic, a another book on stoicism also written by Ryan Holiday, has an informative website on stoic philosophy.

Be curious. Check it out!

More to come…..

