Did Not Even Blink

My main sources of added dietary fats are butter, olive oil, avocado oil and coconut oil.   Recently the American Heart Association (AHA) published recommendations that expressed a preference for polyunsaturated fats (such as corn oil, canola oil and soybean oil) over saturated fats.  Being that I have educated myself years ago on how damaging polyunsaturated fats are, I can say that I did not even blink at the news.

Honestly, I was surprised when the AHA recommendations hit the news.  Over the past 5 years or so I have observed more scientific research being published about the benefits of saturated fats.  Many articles have been written about butter and other saturated fats, in fact, not being widow makers. I happily thought that slowly but surely the tides were turning even in the mainstream.  Educating yourself on the topic of fats and oils will pay dividends.

My journey of discovery about fats began with learning the truth about margarine and butter from the article The Skinny on Fats The Skinny on Fats by Sally Fallon and Mary G. Enig.  The Weston A. Price Foundation has a number of  informative articles on fats and oils .  My next step was to read Know Your Fats  by Dr. Enig to ensure I was not in mortal danger because what I was reading flied in the face of everything I have been taught about fats.

This may be an excellent opportunity to do some homework on the topic.  Below are a number of reliable resources that have weighed in on the AHA controversy.

The Coconut Oil Controversy – Podcast from Elizabeth Benton at Primal Potential (including links to related information)

Coconut Oil Is Still Healthy, Despite AHA Claims Article from Chris Kresser

Is Coconut Oil Killing Us? Information from Chris Masterjohn (podcast, podcast show notes (brief), podcast transcript and links to related information)

Vegetable Oils, (Francis) Bacon, Bing Crosby, and the American Heart Association Article by Gary Taubes

More to come…..

